Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Let the Preparation Begin!

When I ran my first long distance race (Dam to Dam 20K), I was exceedingly nervous. I begin thinking about the day and preparing a full week in advance. I made sure I knew what I was going to be wearing, what I would be eating, and I had my schedule all worked out. This process worked well with my sometimes OCD personality and my overly organized nature. The same thing happened with my first marathon. As the races have piled up, however, I’ve become a lot more comfortable with the process. I know what to expect, how to prepare, and I don’t give it nearly as much thought anymore. I’m comfortable with those distances and the races that accompany them. Now, a 50 mile trail race…this is all new territory for me!

I’ve certainly spent plenty of time thinking about this race, but now that it’s only a few days away, some of my original nerves and original running OCD are coming back into play. I don’t mind 🙂 I’ve gathered all of my clothes, supplies, and food for the day of the race and separated it into my suitcase and drop bag. I’ve also compiled a tentative schedule for the day so I know when everything is taking place, but also so the beautiful epicurean can track me effectively since I won’t be running over any timing pads or checking in with my phone while I’m out in the woods! I even have a folder of information complete with maps of the course (which I’ve studied), and other race-specific information. There is no packet pick-up until the morning of the race, which is a bit annoying, but I’ll work with it.

All packed up! Bring on the trails 🙂

It’s going to be a quick weekend and the schedule will be tight, but I’m ready for a whirlwind running weekend! I’m not normally a fan of getting up at 4AM for much of anything, but I have a feeling that even though I’m going to try and get to bed by 9PM, I’m probably not going to sleep much. Adrenaline can go a long ways!

My home away from home on Saturday!

Look forward to a full recap next week- I’m sure I’ll have a bit of extra time to write while my legs are recovering!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

