Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Seasonal Transitioning

Fall is definitely in the air, and with it all of the wonderful smells and flavors of the season. This time of year also means transition for me in terms of the daily aspects of life and running. Although I overall really enjoy autumn, I started thinking a bit more intentionally about just how different things become as the leaves fall off the trees and the air starts to nip at your nose. Here are a few of my observations:

Would anyone like to come over and rake the yard?

Nutrition: We’ve been lucky enough to enjoy a weekly bounty of vegetables from a wonderful CSA this summer. Alas, our share of the veggies is coming to an end this month, and with the drastic weather conditions over the summer, I have a feeling it’s going to become much more difficult to find reasonably-priced fresh produce that hasn’t been over-treated with pesticides and left to sit in a warehouse for too long. However, autumn also means the emergence of one of my favorite flavors- pumpkin! You can bet it will be finding its way into breakfast smoothies, breads, coffee, pizza, and just about anything else I can work it into on my plate.

Even more delicious when you fill them with custard and bake them!

Clothing: Generally, I like being able to pull out my fall/winter wardrobe. However, the need to add increasingly heavy layers of running insulation is not high on my list of likes! I’m still fully committed to running outside all winter, regardless of the weather, but that doesn’t mean I need to like the extra work involved. Gone are the days when I could be ready and out the door in 5 minutes!

Time & Mileage: I’m now tapering for my 50-miler at the end of the month, so my weekly mileage is decreasing quite a bit. Although I plan to do a 50K in November, I’ll still be pulling back some over the winter. I would like to keep my base high enough that I can move right into the spring race season, but I’m still going to have a bit more time on my hands, especially on the weekends. This is probably a good thing if I’m going to write a dissertation this winter though 🙂

Daylight: The combination of shorter days and evening runs means I’m going to be spending more and more time running in the dark. I’ll be prepared with my reflective materials and headlamps, but the cold chill of the dark is never as enjoyable when you are trying to crank out 10 or 12 miles, is it?

Extra House Work: I’m convinced that our home is a magnet for every leaf on every tree in the neighborhood! There are many ways to get a good upper-body workout, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be getting my workout with a rake in hand for the next two months! Does anyone want to come jump in a big pile of leaves?

Endless piles…if only we could sell them!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Seasonal Transitioning

  1. Brittany on said:

    I’d be very interested in seeing a recipe for incorporating pumpkin into a pizza!

    Also, forgive me if I’m too slow on the uptake, but is your blog title in reference to Hitchhikers Guide?

    • locutus08 on said:

      Definitely- I’ll be sure to post some recipes. Good catch on the title as well 🙂 It is indeed a Hitchhikers reference!

Leave a Reply

