Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Review: The Clean Bottle & The Runner

Mother Nature’s attempt to bake me while I run this summer has meant I’ve been more than a little invested in efficient hydration. I’ve experimented with bottles and packs and runs broken up incessantly by the high number of city parks (with water fountains) in my area. I’ve also done my best to ween myself off of Gatorade and Powerade, along with the extremely high sugar content in both. Mixing them 1/2 and 1/2 with water certainly helps, but I’ve found electrolyte tablets, such as the Hammer Endurolytes Fizz, to be just as effective, if not more. The also happen to taste really good with a nice subtle flavor!

My latest hydration-related purchase, at the suggestion of a friend, was the Clean Bottle, which came with The Runner. There is no question that the market is saturated with water bottles. Many are specifically designed for running purposes as well. I may or may not own several varieties myself 🙂 The Clean Bottle sets itself apart with its dual-access system. Both the top and bottom lids screw off, allowing you to thoroughly clean the bottle without as much hassle. The 22 oz. bottle is also BPA free, which pleases me considering some of the research I’ve been reading lately on the negative effects of exposure to BPA. The silicone washers on the lids are also great at preventing leaks no matter how much I might beat it up out on a run.

The Clean Bottle, w/ The Runner attached

The Runner, which can be purchased separately, but is marketed with the Clean Bottle, offers an alternative to armband iPhone holders. Sadly, my Garmin 405 has gotten to the point where it doesn’t hold a charge much over 4 hours of running or 5 hours of continuous use. Being the Virgo that I am, I NEED to track my stats, especially my really long training runs. This has meant bringing my iPhone with me on long runs. Wearing it on my arm tends to be a tad annoying, but I’ve put up with it. However, The Runner allows me to attach my iPhone to my water bottle and still have room for a few nutrition supplements as well.

The bottom cap comes off just as easily as the top.

At first, I was a bit concerned with the overall weight of a full bottle, along with my iPhone. However, now that I’ve taken it out on a few runs, I’ve found that I have gotten used to it pretty quickly. The elastic band that wraps around your hand as you hold it is mostly mesh, so it holds the bottle firmly to your hand while still being relatively breathable, which is great. I think the size of the bottle is about at the limit of what I’d like to carry in my hand, so others may find it a bit too large, depending on personal preference. Overall, I’ve been very pleased with my purchase and anticipate getting a great deal of use out of my new bottle system!

If you don’t have an iPhone, the pouch will hold several nutrition packets as well.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: The Clean Bottle & The Runner

  1. alaine66 on said:

    Thanks for the review. I have been looking into one of these because the whole
    “water bottle fanny pack” is not so attractive 😉

  2. Pingback: Race Report: Sioux Falls Marathon « Chasing 42

  3. Pingback: Compact Hydration: Small Handheld Water Bottle Reviews | Chasing 42

Leave a Reply

