Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Lake Superior & The Duluth Running Company

Happy Labor Day Weekend to everyone! The beautiful epicurean and I took advantage of the long weekend for a quick mini-honeymoon to the North Shore of Lake Superior. This scenic destination has quickly become one of our favorite places to visit. The ability to hop in the car and escape to what seems like another world is quite a treat! As a New Englander, she has a natural affinity for the ocean, and I seem to have an acquired affinity, so Lake Superior is about the closest we can get, and it lives up to its billing pretty darn well.

Once in blue moon 🙂

We rented a cottage right on the lake, and were able to take advantage of all that the area had to offer. Between AMAZING Italian food in Duluth (who knew?!) and the relaxed nature of being on the lake, we had a delightful time. I am lucky enough to have found a partner who understands and supports my running commitment (addiction?) so I was also able to squeeze in a wonderful 13-mile run along the lake as well. There is really something truly special about running in that area, and I always get the sense that I could just keep running and running. There are several trail races in the Duluth area every year, and I’m hoping to fit one into my schedule next year!

Not a bad view for a run!

While in Duluth, we also had a chance to stop in at the Duluth Running Company. I had heard plenty of great things about this running store, especially from folks who had run Grandma’s Marathon. The DRC definitely lived up to its reputation! I was able to try on a few different pairs of NB Minimus road and trail shoes as I continue my quest for the perfect pair of everyday minimalist shoes. It was also just very nice to chat with the staff members about running in general. They were extremely knowledgeable, and very friendly (gotta love the Minnesota nice!). As I left, I couldn’t help but wish that the DRC was closer, because I’d definitely do all my shopping there!

It was a quick weekend but incredibly relaxing and restful. I appreciated having a lower mileage weekend on the schedule as well, as I gear up for longer run this Saturday, following by a trip up to Sioux Falls, SD for the Sioux Falls Marathon on Sunday! I hope everyone had a great weekend and squeezed in a nice run along with time with family and friends 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Lake Superior & The Duluth Running Company

  1. Pingback: Holiday on the North Shore: Two Harbors, MN | What IF…? Gourmet

Leave a Reply

