Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Let the Ultra Training Commence!

As indicated earlier, my ultimate goal for the fall race season is to run the Surf the Murph 50-mile Trail Run in Savage, MN. This race is literally miles from where I grew up, and I’ve been out on the course numerous times, so discovering this race provided me with at least a taste of fate! Additionally, it’s 3 out and back loops with plenty of support, which bodes well for me 🙂 Now that RAGBRAI is over, my official training calendar can begin. I have mapped out the next 13 weeks of running in order to prepare myself as best I can for this race. My schedule is in part based on a great plan I found on Runner’s World, although I am adding some additional cross-training and strength-training. I stuck to a modified version of this plan during the spring to complete my 40-mile race and I felt like it prepared me rather well, so I’m hoping it will have the same effect this time around.

One of the great things about this plan is that it is manageable. I don’t feel as though I’m constantly running, which is good because I’m going to be incredibly busy this fall. I’m going to be teaching two university courses, as well as conducting my dissertation research and working on writing my dissertation. I’ll also be serving on several university committees, and preparing for two professional conferences. I thrive on being busy, but I think this semester is going to put that craving to the test! However, the ability for running to calm me and center me in order to work harder and more efficiently afterwards is a fantastic bonus.

If you are curious or would like to follow along, I’ve included my basic running schedule below 🙂 The Tuesday & Thursday runs are also tempo runs, typically either at half-marathon or marathon pace.

I may not know exactly what this fall will bring, but I’m excited for the experiences and stories that emerge along the way…let the training begin!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Let the Ultra Training Commence!

  1. We can’t see your calendar. The following message is posted at the top of the calendar, “Events from one or more calendars could not be shown here because you do not have the permission to view them.”

    I’m sure you will be far ahead of me 😉

  2. Pingback: Stuck in Limbo: Running On Tired Legs « Chasing 42

  3. Pingback: Watching the Clock « Chasing 42

Leave a Reply

