Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

And the winner is…

Have I mentioned before that I have a problem with getting over-involved? I have quite a few interests, and the result is that I want to do everything I see, read about, or hear about! I’m a strong believer that life isn’t about the things you own, but rather about the experiences you have and the memories you make. That’s probably why my mind is constantly racing from one idea to the next, and also why I want to run every interesting race I read about or hear about. Unfortunately, I’m not independently wealthy, and I don’t have the skills to become a full-time runner (although, I’m not sure I’d love it as much if it was my JOB!). Thus, I am forced to decided every season which races to run and which races to keep on the “someday” list until time and money afford me the opportunity. Combining races and vacations can certainly be fun, but I’m pretty sure that if we scheduled all of our vacations around races, the beautiful epicurean would far less excited about travel…and the reality is that our dual-affinity for travel and experiences makes for a great pairing!

And so, without further ado, here are my race plans for the fall season!

September 2: HyVee Triathlon I was asked by a friend to cover the run portion (10K) of this triathlon, and I’ve never experienced the race atmosphere of a tri so I jumped at the chance! Now, if you are thinking that this may somehow lead to me competing in triathlons at some point in the future, don’t get your hopes up…water and I don’t get along very well- long story.

September 9: Sioux Falls Marathon– This is a nice close drive, and it will allow me to add another state to my list. It’s also my birthday weekend, and what better way to celebrate, right?

September 15: Wabash Trace Trail Marathon– Remember when I said I wanted to be a Maniac? Well, running this race will provide me with just such an opportunity!

October 27: Surf the Murph 50-mile Trail Race– Yes, I am going to bite the bullet and see what 50 miles feels like. The race is close to my parents’ house, so if push comes to shove, and I can just run back instead 🙂 Additionally, the training plan I followed for my 40-mile trail race was actually a modified plan for a 50-mile race, so I’ll be familiar with the schedule as well- bonus!

November 17- Northface Endurance Challenge 50K (Kansas City, MO)- I really do love these Northface events, and running in KC will give me another state for my collection…a perfect way to round out the fall!

Now, I’m guessing there will be some smaller races tossed in locally as well, but these are my target races and the races I will plan my training around. It will certainly be a busy fall, especially when I combine this with a full teaching load and dissertation research, but I’m looking forward to it. I thrive on being busy and I think this qualifies!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. You are an inspiration!! I am still going to push to get you doing triathlons one day soon 🙂 You CAN DO what you put your mind to…Overcoming your swimming “fears” is definitely possible…if you want to. I’m excited to follow you with each of these events and cheer you on!!

  2. Pingback: Let the Ultra Training Commence! « Chasing 42

  3. Pingback: Race Report: Sioux Falls Marathon « Chasing 42

Leave a Reply

